Kwento ni Marya #5: Blueberry Cheesecake

Naririnig dito sa apartment namin ang dagundong ng mga nagbi-videoke sa labas. Sa tantya ko, tatlo o apat na videoke ang sabay sabay na tumutugtog ngayon.

Kakagising ko lang. Alas tres ng hapon. 9 hours nalang, 2022 na.

Bumangon ako. In an instant, lumapit sakin si Tofu, ang pusa ko, habang nagmi-meow ng malakas. Hindi ako sure kung sinasabi nya na na-miss nya ako, o kung nagugutom na sya, kaya chineck ko yung food bowl nila. Viola! Ubos na ang pagkain. Kaya pala. Gutom na sya. Akala ko pa naman, na-miss nya na ako.

Ang kapal ng mukha kong mag assume na namiss nya ako.

I will be celebrating the new year alone in my apartment with my cats. Oops, technically, I’m not alone. I have Tofu and Longan. My niece had to go back home to the province yesterday kaya ayun, solo flight tayo ngayon.

I am determined to make the best out of today! To begin with, I decided to play some music. Nakakabingi naman kasi ang katahimikan.

Then I started preparing the food. I’m no expert, but since ako lang din naman kakain, kebs!

I forgot to take pictures of what I cooked but I made tuna pasta. It was good. Bumili din ako ng kalahating manok sa Max’s. Naluto ko na sya kaya kumain na ako.

Habang kumakain, may tumawag sakin. Just in time! Bumaba na ako galing sa 4th floor apartment namin pababa at kinuha ang inorder kong dessert. Isang maliit na blueberry cheesecake!

ALL. FOR. ME.

Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels.com

Syempre hindi ‘yan yung cheesecake na in-order ko! Nilagay ko lang ‘yan para matakam ka din. Eto na ang sign para umorder ka ng cheesecake! Syempre sa sobrang sarap, hindi ko na naalalang kumuha ng picture. *wink, wink*

Photo by Anna Tarazevich on Pexels.com

Sa totoo lang, the thought of being alone on new year’s eve gave me a shallow feeling of emptiness. Masyado na ba akong loner to do this to myself? Pwede naman ako pumunta somewhere to be with other people, diba? Bakit di ako mag attend ng party somewhere?

But now, okay naman pala. This is a memorable weekend for me. I’m not sure if this would ever happen again but, I don’t regret it. It’s like a time for me to have the apartment all to myself. And really take the time to appreciate it. REALLY appreciate it.

Although I hated the dull yellow walls, and that there’s a misplaced post in the middle of the room, which, for the record, I have not found any use of hanggang ngayon, this was our home for almost 2 years.

Although the floors of this place have several cracks on them, and the bathroom and kitchen countertop is a little too small, I learned to cook a couple of recipes in my stay here. May mga fail, merong hindi.

Although the everyday flight down four levels of stairs has worn the crap out of me, and I hated our nosy landlady, this place was our (mine and my niece’s) safe haven during some of the worst months of the pandemic. (It’s still going on right now, but I hope it gets better and better…)

This place witnessed a lot of tears, laughter, rant sessions, petty fights, playtime with our cats, and most of all, it watched us grow. A year and 10 months flew by so fast.

I’m excited for our move. Pero hindi ako gaanong excited magbuhat ng mga mabibigat naming gamit galing sa ikaapat na palapag ng apartment building na ito.

Wish us luck!

2 responses to “Kwento ni Marya #5: Blueberry Cheesecake”

  1. Good luck to you. Well written loved to read it! Wish you happy 2022. Stay blessed.๐Ÿ’“๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿค—

    Like

    1. Thank you! Happy and healthy 2022 ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started